Brussel and haloumi starters

My kids call haloumi “squeaky cheese” and I do use it often, so they get their squeak on often! I found a paneer recipe of this in the ‘I Quit Sugar’ cookbook my dear friend Sara gifted me, but seeing as we just love love love haloumi, the adjustment had to be made! This was a winner as an entrée at our family bbq, but if I was having a dinner party I’d serve a couple on a bed of sweet potato puree or roasted capsicum. Have a go, they’re easy and yummy!!

Jan 2016 001

Ingredients

250g brussel sprouts

200 g block haloumi

Splash olive oil

Sprinkle of salt

 

Method

Slice the brussels in half and slice the haloumi into squares. Assemble the haloumi to be sandwiched in between the brussels, using a toothpick to secure them together. Heat the oil in a non-stick pan. Once the oil is hot, place each morsel in and fry for 3-5 minutes, then toss/turn and fry for a further 3-5 minutes. Sprinkle with salt and serve immediately!

 

 

 

Brussel and haloumi starters

Leave a Reply

